The Philippines and Turkey formally established diplomatic relations with the signing of a Treaty of Friendship on 13 June 1949. Both countries were founding members of the United Nations in 1946. Filipino and Turkish troops fought on the side of the United Nations during the Korean War in the early 1950s.

Although Turkey and the Philippines had earlier exchanged non-resident ambassadors, it was only in 1991 that the Philippines put up its embassy in Ankara. Previous to that, the Philippine Ambassador in Tehran, Iran, was accredited to Turkey.  

On 30 October 1991, Ambassador Bonifacio P. Arribas presented his credentials as the first Philippine Resident Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to President Turgut Özal of Turkey. 

Consular posts headed by honorary consular officials were established just before (in the case of Istanbul) or soon after that:

  1. Istanbul – 1990-2015
  2. Mersin - 2001-2021
  3. Izmir - 2007
  4. Gaziantep – 2010-2018

The Embassy has jurisdiction over Turkey, Azerbaijan and Georgia.

In 2005, supervision over the consulate general in Tbilisi, Georgia, was transferred from the Embassy of the Philippines, Moscow to the post.  It is headed by an honorary consul general.


The following served as Ambassadors:

Bonifacio P. Arribas (1991-1994)

Minerva Jean A. Falcon (1994-1996)

Jose Lino B. Guerrero (1997-1999)

Ofelia B. Castaño (1999-2005)

Bahnarim A. Guinomla (2006-2009)

Pedro O. Chan (2009-2011)

Marilyn J. Alarilla (2011-2013)

Maria Rowena Mendoza Sanchez (2013-2018)

Raul S. Hernandez (2019 - 2020)

Maria Elena P. Algabre (2021-Present)